Love of the Brethren

Heart Tree

Dear Readers, Beloved of God,

In our world today it is truly a rarity to find and experience genuine Christian, or Brotherly love. This is shameful considering the masses that profess Christianity throughout the world. We are abiding in evil and violent times, and just watching an episode of our local news seems to sadly confirm this. I’m certainly not saying that Christian love is nonexistent, just that genuine Christian love is a rare find. The selfless, forsake my own desires and convenience, and live for another kind of love. You know; the kind of love as expressed in our Savior, Jesus. A love that richly and deeply testifies, confirms, and bears witness worthy of His attention. If this love is found even in the simplest of acts, it should be cherished and guarded as a gift from God. Godly recognition and honor should be given to the one that allows the love of Christ to so shine from their spirit.

The love I here speak of is not the kind of love the world offers. This love is the manifested love of God through His chosen to another. You see, there is a kind of love available that comes not from the throne of God. One person can love another and remain the enemy of God. The Word of God reminds us that even the heathen can give good gifts, but this love does not have Christ at its center. This love does not flow from the living waters of life. Worldly love, although heartfelt, is still somewhat superficial, and usually has a hidden agenda or some strings attached. Genuine Christian love as expressed from one human being to another is a gift from God and can only be obtained through Him.

I wish to relate to you an experience I recently had, where this Christian love I speak of, was shown towards me and my family.

Several days ago, super cell thunderstorms that were producing tornados moved across the Western to Eastern United States. I live in the State of Georgia and the storms were headed our way! These storms are my least favorite thing about spring in the Southern United States.  Might I add, our home has been struck once, and areas less than one mile from us have had recent tornado touchdowns! Needless to say, I hate these types of storms and over the last several years they have gained frequency and volatility!

Knowing that these storms were coming and already moving across other states, I asked publically for prayer through social networks. Several people responded indicating that they would pray, but one particular “prayer warrior” sticks out from the crowd.

I have never met her face to face and we live thousands of miles apart. She is in England, and I the United States. We have developed a strong spiritual friendship through the Twitter network. In fact, I have come to love her as my Christian sister very deeply, and some day in heaven, will be able to greet her with a holy kiss and hugs. The distance between us is not a hindrance to God. He made sure we met because it was His will. The friendship we share has the foundation of Jesus and through His Holy Spirit we are able to draw close. When God blesses you with a treasure such as this, never let it go! The gift of a person such as this, is valuable indeed!

My friend in England assured me that she would pray for my family and me and even included our entire country! I expected a small prayer to God asking for our safety and wellbeing, but what I received was so much more than that. It is important to point out that there is a five hour time difference between us.

Later that night, I received a Twitter message from my friend. Looking at the clock, I realized it was after three o’clock in the morning in England! She was checking to make sure that we made it through the storms. Her timing was perfect, as the last bands of the storm were moving through as she contacted me. I sent message back letting her know that we had indeed made it through the nasty storms. She replied by thanking and praising God for our safety, sending her love, and telling me that now she was going to bed. She had to be up for work at six o’clock in the morning.

I sat back in awe that my friend was concerned enough to contact me at three o’clock in the morning, her time. As I sat warmly thinking of my friend, the Spirit of God rushed me like a bolt of lightning! She said, “NOW I AM GOING TO BED”! The Ever-Shining Light dawned on me, she has sacrificed her sleep to stay awake and pray for my family and me!

What selfless love! After all, we have never shared the things that most friendships are allowed. Never shared a meal; a quite chat outdoors on a warm spring day, our deepest secrets, or even an encouraging hug. Those things are certainly nice, and I would advocate them to this day, but when Jesus is the founder and the strong root of a friendship they aren’t overly necessary! Through the friendship we share, God has reassured us of His awesome and unending love, gifted us both with a loving friendship, and sealed our covenant through His Holy Spirit, sight unseen.

This experience brought to memory a Bible verse: “We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love the brethren.” (I John 3:14) NKJV

I thank God for the safety and security He provided for my family and me during those storms. But, I am equally thankful to God for my friend in England.

Rosemarie, thank you for your friendship, love, prayers, loyalty to Jesus, and the sacrifice you made for me personally. I love you and you will always have a special place in my heart. You show that you have passed from death into life.

Intercessors aren’t well known and most always go without even a “thank you”, but they are the most important gift in God’s ministry. They are the backbone of any descent and Godly ministry and I believe all fellow Pastors and Ministers would agree. If not, you may have missed your calling! Someone is always behind the scenes praying for the Pastor, ministry, and Ministers. I have certainly come to know my “someone” and again Rosemarie, I thank you from deep within my heart.

Father I thank you for my friend, Rosemarie. I ask that every Christian might experience this love that comes from you and a friendship where words aren’t necessary. In the beautiful name of Jesus, ~Amen

Leave a Reply

