“The Revelation of Jesus Christ” (The “Rapture”)

Rev

Dear Readers, Beloved of God,

I pray that thus far you have enjoyed our study together, and that the Holy Spirit has brought you abundant “revelations” of Revelation. I promised to take a simple and practical approach, but I never promised it would be short! It is my goal to present God’s Word in all its beauty and wonderment and I hope that this is accomplished here.

After this brief teaching of our study, I am going to begin presenting the Book of Revelation in a chapter by chapter analysis. I have contemplated much about presenting another controversial subject here, and have decided that if I am to present God’s Word in full, and in all its wondrous beauty, I am under obligation before God to do so. That said I will briefly touch on the subject of the “rapture” of the church. We shall prepare in our traditional manner:

Father in the beautiful and mighty name of Jesus, I ask that You guide me as I teach according to Your Holy Word. I ask that if I misrepresent or improperly instruct, You will call me on it, and lead me to the proper rendering. Father, provide for me Your Wisdom and fill me with Your Holy Spirit of Truth. For these that read, I ask for their spiritual eyes and ears to be opened, that they read with an open heart and mind, receive the witness of Your Holy Spirit, and are flooded with the wondrous joy, nay rapturous joy, of soon meeting You in the air. Teach us, Your people, oh Lord. We come hungry for more of You. Satisfy our thirst for righteousness, and lead us into all of Your majestic Truth. It is with praise and thanksgiving that we pray and request. In the name of Jesus, ~Amen

“The Rapture of the Church”

I am well familiar that the word “rapture” is not written in the Word of God, but its meaning and implications certainly are. The word means “caught up” or “carrying off” and is borrowed from the Latin Vulgate Bible (Roman Greek). In the King James Bible the English translation of the word is rendered “caught up”. As I have mentioned before, I will not argue over these doctrines. I will however do my best to answer any questions. What I teach is what I believe, and I believe what I teach because of my study of the Word of God and the witness of His Holy Spirit. I am told in His Word that the Holy Spirit will guide, lead, and teach me in all things, and I just simply study and believe Him for His teaching. If one will apply themselves to the study of the scriptures, you are promised understanding and teaching, in His timing of course.

The “Rapture of the Church” is the moment when Jesus will come and take the believers with Him to heaven. The second coming of Jesus is divided into two parts: “His appearing” (rapture) and “His return”. In His appearing He doesn’t actually return to the earth, He remains in the air and receives the believers to Himself. As, I will later show, His return is when He, and we, return to the earth at the end of the tribulation period to bring an end to the Battle of Armageddon and begin the earthly kingdom and reign of Jesus. Therefore, His appearing is our redemption and His return is as Triumphant King!

The entire Old Testament Exodus story is a type and shadow of these events. God, from the beginning, has established a pattern of protecting, providing for, safely delivering, and sheltering His people! Why would this pattern of deliverance and protection change at the onset of the tribulation period? It won’t! God never forsakes a promise and in His own Words, “changes not”. Consider a few other Old Testament types and examples of the “rapture”; the “translation” of Enoch before the flood, the sealing of Noah and his family in the ark to protect them from the flood, the “rapture” of Lot from Sodom, and the “taking” of Elijah in a whirlwind in the early times of Israel.

Now we shall consider some New Testament scriptures revealing the rapture of the church:

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.

(John 14:1-3) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

“But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, but My Father only. But as the days of Noah were, so also will the coming of the Son of Man be. For as in the days before the flood, they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noah entered the ark, and did not know until the flood came and took them all away, so also will the coming of the Son of Man be. Then two men will be in the field: one will be taken and the other left. Two women will be grinding at the mill: one will be taken and the other left.  Watch therefore, for you do not know what hour your Lord is coming. But know this, that if the master of the house had known what hour the thief would come, he would have watched and not allowed his house to be broken into. Therefore you also be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.

(Matthew 24:36-44) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

“And as it was in the days of Noah, so it will be also in the days of the Son of Man: They ate, they drank, they married wives, they were given in marriage, until the day that Noah entered the ark, and the flood came and destroyed them all. Likewise as it was also in the days of Lot: They ate, they drank, they bought, they sold, they planted, they built; but on the day that Lot went out of Sodom it rained fire and brimstone from heaven and destroyed them all. Even so will it be in the day when the Son of Man is revealed.

“In that day, he who is on the housetop, and his goods are in the house, let him not come down to take them away. And likewise the one, who is in the field, let him not turn back. Remember Lot’s wife. Whoever seeks to save his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life will preserve it. I tell you, in that night there will be two men in one bed: the one will be taken and the other will be left. Two women will be grinding together: the one will be taken and the other left. Two men will be in the field: the one will be taken and the other left.

(Luke 17:26-36) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

“…—such a one was caught up to the third heaven.”

(II Corinthians 12:2) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

 

“For since by man came death, by Man also came the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ all shall be made alive. But each one in his own order: Christ the first fruits, afterward those who are Christ’s at His coming. Then comes the end, when He delivers the kingdom to God the Father, when He puts an end to all rule and all authority and power.”

(I Corinthians 15:21-24) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

“Behold, I tell you a mystery: We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changedin a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed. For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.”

(I Corinthians 15:51-53) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

But I do not want you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning those who have fallen asleep, lest you sorrow as others who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.

For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep. For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore comfort one another with these words.

(I Thessalonians 4:13-18) NKJV (Emphasis mine) 

For God did not appoint us to wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us, that whether we wake or sleep, we should live together with Him.”

(I Thessalonians 5:9) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

“Because you have kept My command to persevere, I also will keep you from the hour of trial which shall come upon the whole world, to test those who dwell on the earth”

(Revelation 3:10) NKJV (Emphasis mine)

      Beloved, I will close here with this portion of our study. I have intentionally submitted the above scriptures without explaining them. I want to allow the scriptures to speak for themselves, affording you the opportunity to listen for the voice of the Lord, concerning their accuracy of our subject. Also, I have intentionally avoided discussing the various beliefs and arguments concerning this subject. I am familiar with them in fair detail, but wanted to present the subject here as neutral as possible, as not to cloud or taint your thoughts. I trust that the Lord will minister to you concerning what I have written. As I have stated before, the scriptures support one another, and I believe those presented support well.

I ask your forgiveness as I am being led to comment on one scripture, the last one, Revelation 3:10 and it is supported by 1 Thessalonians 5:9. This scripture is spoken by Jesus Himself (red letter). He states that He will “keep you [the church] [us] from the hour of trial which shall (meaning it has not happened yet) come upon the whole world (globally, everywhere, worldwide)”. What hour of trial will He keep us from? With respect to biblical history what event(s) have yet to take place? Furthermore, how will He keep us from this hour of trial? Beloved, I have searched the scriptures and inquired of God, the only answers to these questions, are that He will keep us, the church (true body of believers) from experiencing the “Tribulation Period” by removing the church before it begins, which is referred to as the “Rapture”! Until we meet again, I pray for continued understanding and peace.

Leave a Reply

